Hunk of the Week 5/28/09: Karl Urban

Discussion in 'TV & Media' started by auntiehill, May 28, 2009.

?

Hunk of the Week: Karl Urban

Poll closed Jun 2, 2009.
  1. Damn it, Jim! (thumbs up)

87.0%
  2. He'd dead, Jim. (thumbs down)

4.3%
  3. I'm a doctor, not a hunk-o-meter. (thumbs sideways)

8.7%
  1. auntiehill

auntiehill The Blooness Premium Member

*Since we have two people on the thread list who are temporarily unavailable, I'll take this week's thread. We may have to "re-order." Anyone who would like to take a slot on our fun schedule, just let me know via PM. ;) *

Karl Urban, the New Zealand actor, was born in Wellington,the son of a leather goods manufacturer. He attended St Mark's Church School where he showed an early love for public performance. His first acting role was when he was eight he had a line on a television show. However, he did not act again until after high school. He then went on to Wellington College. Upon leaving High School, Karl was offered a role in the hit New Zealand TV-series "Shortland Street," playing gay paramedic Jamie Forrest. After appearing on the show for the 1993-1994 season he attended Victoria University of Wellington for one year, then left to pursue his acting career. Over the next few years, he landed several theater roles in the Wellington area. Eventually, he moved to Auckland where he was offered many guest roles in local shows. One of his first roles was that of a heroin addict in police drama "Shark In the Park".

As well as appearing in films and television shows, Urban had various roles in theatre productions and TV advertisements. In February/March 1998, he was in a play called The Herbal Bed at the Maidment Theatre in Auckland. In August 1998, he played Mark Antony in Auckland Theatre Company's production of Shakespeare's Julius Caesar. The following year he appeared in the Auckland Theatre Company's production of New Zealand classic Foreskin's Lament.