Old Trek Game Proposal Concept Art

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Maurice, Apr 10, 2009.

1. Maurice

Maurice Snagglepussed Admiral

Hi all.

This isn't exactly "fan art" per se, but what I'm going to post in this thread is some concept art and mockups that I did for a few Star Trek game proposals. As per my handle here on Trek BBS [EDIT: then it was DS9Sega], I was a game designer on the DS9 Sega Genesis game (also released on the SNES), but before and after that I worked on a few pitches for Trek themed games that didn't get picked up. That's what I'm going to post here.

First up are two screen grabs from a demo I did in late 1986 for a game called "Balance of Terror", the brought the Romulans back in the movie-era. This was for a company called Novotrade (later Appaloosa), who did the DS9 game I worked on years later, and was for a pitch to Simon & Schuster, who had the videogame rights at the time.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Left image is actual resolution of 320x200 (x16 colors). Right is 50% resolution.
    The running Romulan was from a repel-boarders sequence.

I'll come back to this game another time, but what's notable about it is that these aren't just screen mockups. I actually created a 2 minute animation of what the game might look like to help sell it. I modeled starships in very early 3D software, rendered out "sprites" and then animated them in a cel animation program.

This game was rejected by Simon & Schuster, with the comment that they wanted a game that "didn't require hand-eye coordination". Might I suggest a Star Trek version of Sorry?