Succinctly explain why the gazelle speech was infamously bad

Discussion in 'Star Trek: Enterprise' started by V, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. V

V Commodore Commodore

beating a dead horse:

In your own words, and at most a paragraph or two, succinctly explain why the "Gazelle speech" from the season 2 premiere was "infamously bad", in the manner you would to someone who hasn't seen the series.

I'm not really good at this, but the basic points I make are:

Every show has a "rough first season where we learn how to do things". But the Gazelle speech was so corny, so "tie things up neatly with a bow", that this is when I realized..."you're just cranking this out like a sausage factory". Sort of like "Insert Inspirational Speech Here [TM]"

Of course, the real "breaking point" for me was A Night in Sickbay, which was when I realized: "you aren't listening to any of the fan complaints, and you're actually doing the stuff we hate at higher levels.....which is evidence that this is simply what "Enterprise" IS, there was no learning curve, and it's always going to be like this and you'll never listen to us"

2. Nerys Myk

Nerys Myk A Spock and a smile Premium Member

I dunno. The gazelle speech was okay.

Of course as I've said before what most people hear is
    ;)

I'm not sure it was the right speech to make at that moment, but does illustrate how humans develop and learn through trial and error or mistakes.

I sometimes thing that Archer should have talked about lions, who also develop at a rate slower than gazelles. But when the lions are ready, the gazelles are lunch. Then he should have given the gaze...er Vulcans a knowing wink.

3. FredH

FredH Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

Had James T. Kirk given the exact same speech in a TOS episode, I'm quite certain that many viewers would be perfectly okay with it--although, admittedly, the diction would be different.